Minorities 1-2

Source. National Commission for religious and linguistic minorities 2007.

Constitution uses the word minority in articles 29, 30, 350A and 350B but does not define it. Article 30 specifically speaks of two categories of minorities that is religious and linguistic. Articles 350 a and b relate to linguistic minorities only. 

Constitutional safeguards for minorities.
Legal safeguards


Central government has declared 6 minorities namely Muslims Christians Sikh Buddhist zoroastrians and Jains. however states are free to recognise other minorities. Jain people are recognised as religious minorities in many states. The matter of including Jain as minority is contentious. Matter pending.

Educational status.

Health status

Housing and related amenities

Poverty and employment